Table of Contents
The ISTA PhD Program at the Institute of Science and Technology Austria is one of the few doctoral programmes that pays a real salary rather than a stipend. After reading ISTA’s own graduate school pages directly, we confirmed what it actually offers: a 5-year employment contract paying €3,053 to €3,673 per month gross, no tuition fees, no application fee, and — unusually for a European doctorate — no IELTS or TOEFL requirement at all.
Two things set it apart from almost everything else on this site. A Bachelor’s degree is enough to apply — you do not need a Master’s, and which one you hold affects both your starting salary and how long the programme runs. And because ISTA employs you rather than awarding you a grant, you get full Austrian social security including health insurance from day one. The catch is narrow but real: ISTA states plainly that it cannot fund your visa or relocation costs.
Key Highlights
| Feature | Details |
| Programme | PhD Program, Institute of Science and Technology Austria (ISTA), Klosterneuburg |
| Location | ISTA campus, which ISTA describes as “only a 25-minute bus ride from Vienna” |
| Degree Level | PhD. A Bachelor’s or a Master’s degree in science is accepted |
| Applications Open | Late October 2026 — ISTA’s table says the “2nd half of October” |
| Deadline | 8 January 2027, 3:00 PM CET. ISTA’s timeline table gives 2:59 PM CET for the same date |
| Referee Deadline | 12 January 2027, 11:59 PM CET — later than your own deadline |
| Start Date | 15 September 2027, which ISTA describes as “non-negotiable” |
| Salary | €3,053 to €3,673 per month gross, stated by ISTA as 2026 figures. Where you sit in the range depends on whether you hold a Bachelor’s or a Master’s at admission, and ISTA states the salary rises after the Qualifying Exam |
| Payment Schedule | 14 payments a year — monthly, plus double payments in June and November |
| Contract | A 5-year employment contract. ISTA states “PhD students are employed by ISTA” |
| Programme Length | ISTA’s pages give two figures: the Overview says typically 4.5 to 6 years depending on your entry degree, the FAQ says typically 5 years |
| Tuition Fees | None. “ISTA does not charge any tuition fees” |
| Application Fee | None. ISTA states “No application fee is required to apply to our PhD and internship, and scholarship programs” |
| English Test | Not required. ISTA states “A formal proof of competence in English (IELTS, CPE or TOEFL) is not required” |
| GRE | Not required |
| Social Security | Automatic and full, inclusive of health insurance, under Austria’s statutory system |
| Visa and Relocation | Not funded. ISTA states it “cannot provide funding for visa and relocation expenses” |
| Referees | Three |
| Nationality | ISTA states it has no quota on international students, and reports a student body from over 50 countries |
| GPA | No fixed cut-off, but a stated expectation. ISTA expects “a top 15% or better GPA” from high-volume countries, naming Pakistan and India; elsewhere, successful candidates are “typically in the top quartile” |
| Cohort Size | ISTA states it “typically admit[s] around 80 students per cohort/intake” from “several thousands” of applicants a year |
| Who Awards the Degree | ISTA itself — no partner university. ISTA notes no subject specialisation appears on the diploma |
| Working Language | English — ISTA describes an “English-taught program and English-speaking campus” |
| Apply At | phd.pages.ista.ac.at/apply |
Detail Description
The Institute of Science and Technology Austria is a research institute at Klosterneuburg, just outside Vienna, built on the model of a graduate research institute rather than a conventional university. It runs no undergraduate teaching. ISTA reports 81 research groups as of 2024 and a plan to reach 90 by 2026, with a student body drawn from over 50 countries.
The structure that follows from this is the thing to understand before applying. You are not admitted to a department or to a named supervisor’s project. You are admitted to the institute, you rotate through research groups in your first year, and you choose your group at the end of it — which means the application is about your scientific potential rather than about matching one professor’s open vacancy.
The second structural point is the employment relationship. ISTA states that “PhD students are employed by ISTA” and that “All students receive 5-year employment contracts.” That is why the money is described as a salary rather than a stipend, why it arrives on an Austrian payroll schedule, and why social insurance is automatic rather than something you arrange.
The third point answers a question most applicants ask about research institutes: ISTA awards the degree itself. There is no partner university in the arrangement — ISTA holds the right to confer the titles Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy, and its FAQ states “you will be awarded a PhD from ISTA”. One detail worth knowing: ISTA notes that no subject specialisation is listed on the diploma.
On scale and competition, ISTA is direct. It states that it “typically admit[s] around 80 students per cohort/intake” against “several thousands of people applying each year for approx. 80+ PhD positions”. It publishes no acceptance rate, and we are not going to calculate one for it — but the ratio those two figures imply is the honest context for everything below.
Research Areas
ISTA states that “There are seven tracks of PhD study”, and you indicate your interests within them rather than applying to a single supervisor.
- Biology
- Chemistry & Materials
- Computer Science
- Data Science & Scientific Computing
- Mathematics
- Neuroscience
- Physics
The degrees ISTA welcomes are broader than those seven tracks. It says students holding a degree in “biology, chemistry, neuroscience, mathematics, computer science, physics, data science and scientific computing, astronomy, earth science and related areas” are encouraged to apply — note that is an invitation rather than a closed eligibility list, and astronomy and earth science appear in it even though neither has a track of its own. ISTA’s FAQ adds “interdisciplinary or related areas”. If your background sits between two tracks, that is not a reason to self-reject.
Salary and Benefits
| Item | What ISTA Publishes | Status |
| Salary | From €3,053/month to €3,673/month, gross, stated by ISTA as “Gross salaries in the year 2026“. Two things move you within the range: whether you hold a Bachelor’s or a Master’s at admission, and ISTA states the salary rises after the Qualifying Exam | Confirmed |
| Payment schedule | Paid 14 times a year — once per month plus double payments in June and November | Confirmed |
| Contract | A 5-year employment contract. Students may finish in 4 or 4.5 years, or request a year-long extension, and ISTA states that students making reasonable progress are funded until their thesis defense | Confirmed |
| Tuition | No tuition fees | Confirmed |
| Application fee | None | Confirmed |
| Social security and health insurance | Austria’s statutory system applies, so you are automatically covered from the start of the PhD, with “full social security coverage (i.e., inclusive of health insurance)” | Confirmed |
| Conference and workshop travel | ISTA states additional financial support is available for attending scientific conferences and workshops. No amount is published | Confirmed, amount not stated |
| Interview travel | For onsite interviews, ISTA states it will reimburse travel and accommodation costs “up to a certain limit”, which it does not specify | Confirmed, limit not stated |
| Visa and relocation costs | Not funded. ISTA states it “cannot provide funding for visa and relocation expenses” | Confirmed as your cost |
Programme Structure — Rotations, Qualifying Exam and Thesis
ISTA splits the PhD into two phases, and the first one is what distinguishes it from a standard European doctorate where you join a named project on day one.
Phase 1 — rotations and coursework. You complete at least three rotations, each of roughly two months, in three different research groups, alongside coursework. Affiliation with the group you will actually do your thesis in happens at the end of the first year. This is the mechanism behind the “no supervisor needed at application” point — you are sampling groups, and they are sampling you.
The qualifying exam sits in the second year — ISTA puts it at “about 1.5 years into their degree” — as a presentation and oral exam in front of a thesis committee. Passing it does two things: it is required to continue, and ISTA states that students who pass “receive a salary raise”.
Phase 2 — thesis research. Thesis work, teaching duties, and biannual progress reviews, ending in a defense that ISTA describes as a public oral presentation of the draft thesis followed by questions.
The practical consequence is on timing. ISTA’s own pages give two different lengths. The Programme Overview says “typically 4.5–6 years, depending on whether a student has a bachelor’s or a master’s degree”; the FAQ says “The PhD program is typically 5 years in length”, depending on individual progress and the conventions of the field. Both sit against a 5-year contract — so a Bachelor’s entrant should plan for the longer end and ask about the extension route early rather than late.
Eligibility Criteria
What ISTA requires
- A Bachelor’s or a Master’s degree in science. ISTA’s FAQ is explicit that a Bachelor’s is sufficient — “you need to have a bachelor’s or a master’s degree in science”
- A degree in a relevant science field. ISTA encourages applications from biology, chemistry, neuroscience, mathematics, computer science, physics, data science and scientific computing, astronomy, earth science and related or interdisciplinary areas — phrased as an invitation rather than a closed list
- Three referees, whose letters must reach ISTA by 12 January 2027
- Availability for the 15 September 2027 start, which ISTA calls non-negotiable
What ISTA does not require
- No Master’s degree — the most unusual thing about ISTA’s entry requirements, and it changes both your salary band and your expected programme length
- No English test, no GRE, no application fee and no tuition
- No supervisor secured in advance. You rotate and affiliate at the end of year one, so there is no need to email professors before applying
- No fixed GPA cut-off — but see the expectation below, which is not the same as no bar
- No age limit. ISTA states “ISTA does not have any age limit”
- No nationality quota. ISTA states “ISTA does not have any quota on international students”
- No work-experience requirement
The GPA expectation, which is not a cut-off but is a bar
ISTA’s FAQ says it has “no fixed GPA requirement”, then qualifies that twice. Successful candidates are “typically in the top quartile of their field of study and institution”. And specifically: “We expect a top 15% or better GPA from institutions and countries where we receive a high volume of applications such as Pakistan, India, Iran, Nigeria, Ghana, and Ethiopia.” ISTA adds that “a top GPA in itself is not sufficient to gain a place”. Applicants from Pakistan and India should therefore treat top 15% as the working threshold rather than assuming the absence of a published minimum means the door is wide.
Obligations and hard rules
- Your first degree must be completed by August — ISTA’s minimum requirement is that you can demonstrate completion “by August”, and “before the program starts, at the very latest”
- At least two of your three references must be academic. ISTA states “At least two of the recommendations need to be from an academic/research environment, one can be from a work environment”
- Never upload a reference letter yourself. ISTA requires referees to submit directly and keep letters confidential from you, and states that “Uploading a letter of recommendation by yourself will lead to an automatic disqualification”
- No deadline extensions. “The deadline is firm and extensions are not granted”
- Teaching is part of the deal. Students are expected to offer teaching assistance for at least one half-semester course before graduating
- Apply from a desktop browser. ISTA states “Please fill out the form using a web browser on a desktop computer. Web browsers on mobile devices (i.e. Android, iPhone, iPad, etc.) are not supported”
- The portal is the only route. ISTA states “We do not accept or process applications and documents received outside of the application portal”
What ISTA says it selects on
ISTA publishes six selection criteria, which is more than most programmes disclose: undergraduate performance (with weight on field-specific courses), reference letters (academic sources prioritised), the statement of purpose, additional relevant skills, transferable skills, and diversity. Read that list alongside ISTA’s warning that a top GPA alone is not sufficient — four of the six are things your transcript cannot show.
English Language Requirements
ISTA’s FAQ states: “A formal proof of competence in English (IELTS, CPE or TOEFL) is not required.” There is no minimum score, no exemption to qualify for and no certificate to chase from a registrar — which makes this one of the rare cases where a “no IELTS” claim is actually true.
What ISTA does require is that all documents be submitted in English, with transcripts and diplomas in English and in the original language, and its working language is English throughout. That shifts the burden rather than removing it: a weak IELTS score cannot disqualify you here, but a poorly written statement of purpose can, and you have no score to fall back on as evidence.
Application Timeline
| Stage | Date |
| Applications open | Late October 2026 — “2nd half of October” in ISTA’s table |
| Application deadline | 8 January 2027, 3:00 PM CET (ISTA’s table says 2:59 PM CET) |
| Referee letters due | 12 January 2027, 11:59 PM CET |
| Pre-selection meetings | February |
| Student interviews | Late February to mid March |
| Final selection meetings | Mid to second half of March |
| Offers | After the final selection meeting. ISTA states “All decisions are final” |
| Offer acceptance deadline | 15 April 2027 |
| Programme start | 15 September 2027 — “non-negotiable” |
Two things to plan around. The referee deadline falls four days after yours, which sounds like breathing room and is not — your application still has to be complete and submitted by 8 January, and a referee who misses 12 January cannot be substituted afterwards. And the gap between an offer and a 15 September start is where visa processing has to fit, at your own expense.
Required Documents
- A CV
- A statement of purpose
- Answers to three additional questions, which ISTA caps at 5 to 8 lines each — short enough that every line counts
- University transcripts and diplomas, submitted in English and in the original language
- Contact details for three referees, who then submit their letters directly by 12 January 2027
There is no English test certificate, no GRE report and no application fee to add to that list. ISTA publishes an application manual for applicants alongside the admissions page, which is worth reading before you start the form rather than during it.
How to Apply
Step 1: Line up your three referees before the portal opens
This is the step that fails applications. Your referees submit directly to ISTA and their deadline is 12 January 2027 at 11:59 PM CET. Ask them in October, not in December, and tell them the date — a strong application with one missing letter is an incomplete application.
Step 2: Prepare the three short answers properly
ISTA limits each of its three additional questions to 5 to 8 lines. That is a deliberate constraint and it rewards drafting in advance — with no English test score in your file, these answers and your statement of purpose are the only direct evidence of how you write.
Step 3: Get your transcripts in both English and the original language
ISTA asks for transcripts and diplomas in English and in the original language. If your institution does not issue English versions, start that request early — it is an administrative queue you do not control.
Step 4: Apply through the ISTA graduate school portal
Applications go through phd.pages.ista.ac.at/apply, which ISTA says opens in the second half of October 2026. There is no application fee. Submit before 8 January 2027 at 3:00 PM CET, and treat ISTA’s alternative 2:59 PM figure as the safer target.
Step 5: Budget for the visa and the move yourself
ISTA states it “cannot provide funding for visa and relocation expenses”. Between a March offer and the 15 September 2027 start you will need to fund the Austrian residence permit process and your flights out of your own pocket, before the first salary payment arrives. Budget for that gap at the point you accept, not in the summer.
Also Check
- 📌 IST Internship Program in Austria | Fully Paid Research Opportunity at ISTA
- 📌 SINGA Scholarship 2027 | Fully Funded PhD in Singapore
- 📌 Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme 2027 | HK$344,400/Year
- 📌 Friedrich Ebert Foundation Scholarship 2027 | €992–€1,500/Month in Germany
- 📌 Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility 2027 | Study in Europe with Monthly Stipend
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. How much does the ISTA PhD Program pay?
From €3,053 to €3,673 per month gross, on ISTA’s stated 2026 figures, with the band depending on whether you hold a Bachelor’s or a Master’s at admission. It is paid 14 times a year — monthly plus double payments in June and November — which on ISTA’s own numbers is roughly €42,700 to €51,400 gross a year. PhD students are employed by ISTA on 5-year contracts with full social security including health insurance. The figures are gross, so Austrian tax and contributions come off them.
2. What is the deadline for the ISTA PhD Program 2027?
8 January 2027 at 3:00 PM CET, with applications opening in the second half of October 2026. ISTA’s timeline table gives 2:59 PM CET for the same date, so work to the earlier one. Your referees have until 12 January 2027 at 11:59 PM CET — a separate deadline. Interviews run late February to mid March, final selection in the second half of March, and offers must be accepted by 15 April.
3. Who can apply for the ISTA PhD Program?
Anyone holding a Bachelor’s or a Master’s degree in science — ISTA is explicit that a Bachelor’s is enough. Eligible fields run from biology, chemistry, neuroscience, mathematics, computer science and physics to data science, astronomy, earth science and related or interdisciplinary areas. ISTA states it has no age limit and no quota on international students, and reports a student body from over 50 countries. One qualification matters for this site’s readers: while ISTA has no fixed GPA cut-off, it states that it expects “a top 15% or better GPA” from countries where it receives a high volume of applications, naming Pakistan and India among them.
4. How do I apply for the ISTA PhD Program?
Through ISTA’s graduate school portal at phd.pages.ista.ac.at/apply, which opens in the second half of October 2026. You submit a CV, a statement of purpose, answers to three additional questions of 5 to 8 lines each, transcripts and diplomas in English and the original language, and contact details for three referees who then submit letters directly. There is no application fee, and no English test or GRE report to supply.
5. Do I need a Master’s degree to apply to ISTA?
No. ISTA states that “you need to have a bachelor’s or a master’s degree in science”, so a Bachelor’s is sufficient — which is unusual for a European doctorate and is one of the strongest reasons to look at ISTA specifically. Your entry degree does two things, though: it sets which end of the €3,053 to €3,673 salary band you start on, and it affects the expected length of the programme, which ISTA’s Programme Overview gives as typically 4.5 to 6 years while its FAQ gives typically 5 years. A Bachelor’s entrant should expect the longer end against a 5-year contract.
6. Is IELTS or TOEFL required for the ISTA PhD Program?
No. ISTA states plainly that “A formal proof of competence in English (IELTS, CPE or TOEFL) is not required”, and that the GRE is not required either. There is no minimum score and no exemption process. What ISTA does require is that all documents be submitted in English, with transcripts and diplomas provided in English and in the original language, and the institute’s working language is English throughout. With no test score in your file, your statement of purpose and your three short answers carry more weight, not less.
7. Is there an application fee or tuition at ISTA?
No to both. ISTA states “No application fee is required to apply to our PhD and internship, and scholarship programs” and that “ISTA does not charge any tuition fees”. Combined with the absence of an English test requirement, that means the application itself costs you nothing beyond your own time — which is genuinely rare and worth weighing if test and application fees are what usually rule you out.
8. Does ISTA cover visa and relocation costs?
No. ISTA states that it “cannot provide funding for visa and relocation expenses”, and this is the one real gap in an otherwise complete package. Between an offer in March and the fixed 15 September 2027 start you will need to fund the Austrian residence permit process and your travel yourself, before any salary arrives. ISTA does reimburse travel and accommodation for onsite interviews, “up to a certain limit” it does not specify, and funds conference and workshop travel once you are a student.
9. Is the ISTA PhD a job or a scholarship?
Formally, employment. ISTA states that “PhD students are employed by ISTA” on “5-year employment contracts”, which is why the money is a salary on a 14-payment Austrian payroll rather than a stipend, and why statutory social insurance covers you automatically. ISTA also calls students “fully funded, at internationally competitive salary levels” and charges no tuition, so in practice it is a fully funded PhD delivered through a contract rather than a grant — and students making reasonable progress are funded through to their thesis defense.
10. What is the difference between the ISTA PhD Program and the ISTA internship?
They are separate schemes. The PhD Program is the five-year salaried doctorate described here, closing 8 January 2027. The ISTA internship — covered in our IST Internship Program guide — is a short research placement for Bachelor’s and Master’s students not yet applying for a doctorate, on its own timetable. ISTA states no application fee applies to either. Important: ISTA’s Apply page states that “The ISTernship program has been paused for the 2026 and 2027 application cycles”, so the internship is not an available alternative for this cycle — the PhD Program is the live route.
Final Thoughts
The ISTA PhD Program is one of the strongest doctoral offers in Europe for a science graduate who has the record but not the paperwork. A salary of €3,053 to €3,673 a month gross on a five-year employment contract, no tuition, no application fee, no IELTS, no GRE, full Austrian social insurance from day one, and a Bachelor’s degree accepted as entry — there are very few programmes where all of those are true at once.
What it asks in return is a genuine commitment to the institute’s way of doing things. You apply to ISTA rather than to a supervisor, you spend your first year rotating through three groups before affiliating with one, and the 15 September 2027 start is non-negotiable with no deferral route published. If you need to choose your lab up front or need a January entry, this is not the programme to bend.
Two things to settle before the portal opens in late October 2026. Ask your three referees early, because their 12 January 2027 deadline is the most common way a good application fails and a late letter cannot be fixed afterwards. And budget for the visa and the move, since ISTA is clear it cannot fund either and the gap between a March offer and a September start is yours to finance. Verify every figure and date on the official ISTA admissions page before the 8 January 2027 deadline.